Duke of Madness Motors Duke of Madness Motors

Available through The FIRESALE Store

Category: Audio+Book
This is the complete, mammoth, authoritatively definitive and totally awesome book and DVD-ROM combo. Every Firesign Theatre radio broadcast from the "Dear Friends" era (1970-1972) is included on the DVD disc, along with a few extra goodies and surprises. The book contains an essay by Firesign archivist Taylor Jessen, new interviews with all four group members, producer Bill McIntyre, engineer "The Live Earl Jive", complete show run-downs and Phil Proctor's collage artwork. This is a must-have for any serious Firesign fan.

Duke Of Madness Motors: The Complete "Dear Friends" Radio Era 1970-1972

It's been such a long exposition, you know. Countless hours spent poring through the personal archives of Firesign group members and devoted fans alike. Fragile, aging reel-to-reel tapes handled with great care and transferred to digital media for restoration. Information and images gathered, processed and refined. Interviews conducted, transcribed and edited. The whole enchilada cubed, reheated, inspected, injected, detected, filtered, digitized, edited and assembled to perfection.

Yes, thanks to the tireless efforts of official Firesign archivist Taylor Jessen, we are proud to present, for the first time anywhere, the complete, mammoth, authoritatively definitive and totally awesome Duke of Madness Motors: The Complete "Dear Friends" Radio Era 1970-1972 book and DVD-ROM combo pack.

The DVD-ROM disc contains high-resolution MP3 audio files of every Firesign radio broadcast from their three series' of the early 1970's:
  • The Firesign Theatre Radio Hour Hour (24 episodes);
  • Dear Friends (21 episodes); and
  • Let's Eat (12 episodes)
...ending with their big final blockbuster, Martian Space Party. A total of 58 shows in all, 80 hours of audio, on a single DVD-ROM disc. Each broadcast is completely restored and remastered for your protection. There's also the syndicated versions of the Dear Friends and Let's Eat episodes, and a handful of additional goodies and surprises from the vaults.

The full color 108-page 7"x10" book contains:
  • Complete rundowns of every broadcast;
  • A lengthy and thorough historical/hysterical essay on the troupe;
  • New intereviews with each Firesign group member;
  • Interviews with long-time Firesign associates, producer Bill McIntyre and engineer The Live Earl Jive;
  • Collages by Phil Proctor;
  • Vintage found objects, original scripts and more.
This is indeed the cultural landslide of a lifetime, more pure unadulterated Firesign than has ever been available in a single package. You'll revel in the lightning-fast word play, bon mots, sparkling repartee, inside jokes, jokey insights, non-sequitors, surreal flights of fancy, bizarre sound effects, social studies, poetic justice, and downright jaw dropping serendipitous synchronicity that this landmark institution of comedy managed to pull off from out of left field in a mere two-year period. Don't miss out on this once in a lifetime opportunity to own and experience this cornucopia of creamy Firesign goodness.

Available through the FIRESALE Store.

Display All Firesign Items By Category